Board Members

The California State Summer School for the Arts is a state agency governed by a 15-­‐member board of trustees appointed by the Governor, State Legislature, State Board of Education, California Arts Council, State University Board of Trustees, Regents of the University of California, and the California State Summer School Arts Foundation.

The California State Summer School Arts Foundation was founded as a 501 (c)(3) in 1986 to support CSSSA by seeking and administer gifts from corporations, individuals and foundations. A 30-­‐member board of directors, appointed by the school’s board of trustees, governs the foundation. A number of trustees also serve as foundation directors.

CSSSA Trustee Meetings 2017-18
September 28, 2017 — Los Angeles
February 1, 2018 — Los Angeles
April 20, 2018 — San Francisco
July 25, 2018 — CalArts, Valencia, CA


Pheobe Beasley, Chair
Adrienne Go, Vice Chair
Bernadette Cheyne
Alexander Cruz de Ocampo
Lilia Gonzales Chavez
Lucy Larson
Janice Pober
Vicki Reynolds
Laura C. Romero, Ph.D
Martha Ryan
Niki Sandoval
Dean Teri Schwartz
Alan Sieroty

Michael Fields, Director


Martha C. Ryan, President
Wendy Wolstoncroft, Vice President 
Wendy Goldberg, Co-Founder
Leslie Birnbaum
Mike Cannone
Susan Dolgen
Maggie Drake
Melissa Draper
Chris Heijnen
Chrisette Hudlin
Brad Krevoy
Josh Love
AJ Major
Jamie McGurk
Steve Nissen
Vicki Reynolds

Heidi Kershaw, Executive Director